From Help-ME

Jump to: navigation, search

Default Runlevel on RH, etc.

During the boot process for Redhat 9.0 and Fedora Core systems the init command opens the /etc/inittab file to decide what "runlevel" the system should be booted to. The /etc/inittab file is a plain text file that can be opened with your favorite text editor.

The relavant section of a sample /etc/inittab file is as follows:

   # Default runlevel. The runlevels used by RHS are:
   #   0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
   #   1 - Single user mode
   #   2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
   #   3 - Full multiuser mode
   #   4 - unused
   #   5 - X11
   #   6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)

The key line in the example above is:

Personal tools